How to Delete a Facebook Group

How to Delete a Facebook Group

Is it time to delete your Facebook group? Change the Group’s Name and Branding Instead of deleting could re-branding the group work? Change the group name, add branding to your cover images, and link it to your Facebook page. To assign new admins Click on the ‘Members’ tab Click on the three dots next to the member you want to give admin rights to Select ‘Make admin’ from the drop-down menu 3. Admins can still block and delete people and threads but the group descriptions cannot be changed. How to archive a group Click the three dots under your cover image Select ‘Archive group’ from the drop-down menu A pop-up window will appear asking you to confirm the action 4. Delete Your Facebook Group If none of the options above work for you then yes, deleting your Facebook group might be the right choice. They’ve built connections and relationships. Click on the members tab Click the three dots next to each member in turn Select ‘Remove from Group’ one at a time until all members are gone The Facebook group is deleted once the last member is removed Facebook will ask you to confirm this as you delete yourself as the last member Conclusion Deleting your Facebook group is a drastic decision but it could be the right one for your business. Have you deleted or archived a Facebook group?

5 Important Announcements From F8 2018: A Focus on Smaller Communities And The Future of the News Feed
Social Media News You Need to Know: February 2017 Roundup
What the Russian-Bought Facebook Ads Tell Us About Targeting

Is it time to delete your Facebook group? Groups can be a valuable asset to your business marketing but they don’t always work out the way you planned.

If you have a large membership, they can be extremely time-consuming. Unless they are contributing to a specific business goal, it’s hard to justify keeping them alive.

In this post, we’ll look at how to delete a Facebook group as well as some alternatives to pulling the plug.

Deleting your Facebook group is drastic and final. Once you’ve done it, there’s no going back. You’ll lose all the content and threads. All the work you put in will be gone for good. So before you delete, consider the other options.

If you are 100% sure you want to delete scroll down to point 4.

1. Change the Group’s Name and Branding

Instead of deleting could re-branding the group work?

It can be disheartening when you grow an engaged group but members constantly recommend your competitors in their comments. Usually, this is because you didn’t make it clear that the group is owned by your business when you set it up.

If so, a re-brand could fix the problem. Change the group name, add branding to your cover images, and link it to your Facebook page. Here’s how.

Change the group name

  • Click the three dots underneath your cover photo
  • Select ‘Edit group settings’ from the drop-down menu
delete a Facebook Group-- Edit group settings
Edit group settings to change the name of your Facebook group
  • Type in your new group name next to ‘Group Name’
delete a Facebook Group-- Change your Facebook group's name
Change your Facebook group name to the new branded version.

Add branding to the cover photo

Your group cover image size is 1,640px by 859px. Use Canva, or your preferred graphic design tool, to create a Facebook group cover that includes your logo.

Link the group to your page

Linking your page to your group lets you post, like and comment as your page on your Facebook group.

To link your group to your Facebook page:

  • Click the three dots under your cover photo
  • Select ‘Edit group settings’ from the drop-down menu
  • Under Linked Pages click ‘Link Your Page’
delete a Facebook Group-- link your Facebook group to your Facebook page
Link your group to your Facebook page so that you can post and comment as your business
  • Click ‘Link’ next to the page you want to link
delete a Facebook Group-- Link your page to your Facebook group
Select the page you want to link your group to

2. Appoint New Admins

Friendships form in groups– members make real connections and support each other. Deleting the group and destroying these relationships can end in hurt feelings and damage your reputation.

Instead of deleting,…

COMMENTS

WORDPRESS: 0
DISQUS: 0